Federation of Chambers of
Commerce and Industry of Sri Lanka

FCCISL began its 17th Entrepreneur Awards, Provincial Shows

The Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year Awards is the ultimate accolade one can achieve as a Sri Lankan entrepreneur.  This long running award scheme, organized by the Federation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Sri Lanka is designed to recognize and reward entrepreneurs who reach the pinnacle of business world whilst contributing towards the national economy. The event is organized in association with FCCISL 57 member chambers and associations where entrepreneurs both at provincial and national level are awarded.

In this year, the award programme consists of 6 provincial awards ceremonies and a National Ceremony. The first provincial ceremony, the North Western and North Central provincial Awards held at the Corporative Auditorium, Madampe on 23rd of this month. This award ceremony was co-organized by the Puttalam District Chamber of Commerce.

Prof. SJBA Jayasekera, Chancellor, Faculty of Agriculture and Plantation Management, Wayamba University graced the ceremony as the Chief Guest and the other distinguish guests and officials participated are Hon. Deputy Minister of External Affairs, G. J. L. Neomal Perera, Mr.Ajith Waththuhewa, Senior Vice President, FCCISL and Mr. Nalin Attygalle, CEO, FCCISL.

The Gold Winner of the Extra Large category of the Northern Central Province has bestowed to Mr. K.G.Thilaka Pushpa Kumara, Chairman, South Lanka Group (Pvt) Ltd while Mr. Lankeswarage Mithrapala, Managing Director, New Rathna Rice (Pvt) Ltd grabbed the Silver Award of the same category. Mr. A Bandula, Proprietor, Nelum Kole Bath Kade has been awarded as the Winner, Northern Central Province of the newly introduced, Differently Abled Entrepreneur of the Year Category.

Mr. Jagath Manjula Yapa, Chairman, Galuku Lanka Exports (Pvt) Ltd was conferred by the Gold Award of the Extra Large category of North Western Province and Mr. M T Ajith Perera, Chairman, A M S K Constructions (Pvt) Ltd and Mr. Dilkshan Fernando, Chairman, Dilshan Trade Centre (Pvt) Ltd have equally won the Silver Award of the Extra Large category, North Western Province. J.A.Sampath Palitha Jayasingha, Proprietor, S P Constructions has been awarded as the Winner of the Differently Abled Entrepreneur of the Year.

In this year the event is themed on “It’s Time to Walk Among the Stars”, with the view that the prospective and emerging entrepreneurs are worthy enough of standing alongside the stars in the corporate world and past platinum winners of this prestigious award. A large number of versatile and innovative entrepreneurs from across the country vie for 193 awards in four categories regionally as well as on national level. A new segment of the awards is being introduced, Emerging Small Women Entrepreneur in the North and East and Differently Abled Entrepreneur of the Year.

The gracious sponsors of the event are, Dialog Axiata PLC, the Platinum Sponsor, Janashakthi Insurance, the Gold Sponsor, Bank of Ceylon, the Silver Sponsor, the International Partner-People Like Us Organization, European Union and Oxfam GB. The partner organizations of the event are, Wijeya Newspapers, Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation, Thinakkural, V FM, Randesa Magazine, 5th Elephant and AV Production.