Federation of Chambers of
Commerce and Industry of Sri Lanka

FCCISL gives the 18th Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year launch a unique touch this year!

Truly an ‘out-of-the-ordinary’ concept is what was presented last evening to members of the media and a host of special invitees, at a very glittering and glamorous event at The Victorian, Kingsbury Hotel.

Sri Lanka today is going through an economic resurgence and keeping this vital strategy in mind the Federation of Chambers of Commerce & Industry of Sri Lanka came up with this very fitting theme…

”It’s your perseverance that drives the nation”

To drive home this very inspiring theme a matching creative angle was coupled onto the entire awards process to give it a whole new meaning. Truly Great Achievers in the caliber of Alexander the Great, the enterprising Thomas Alva Edison, the man with the engineering prowess…Henry Ford and of course our very own Nayana Dehigama, last year’s grand award winner have been utilized and highlighted in the continuing publicity, advertising and all the relevant functions that will take place in the future as well.

These great men, absolutely brilliant entrepreneurs in their own right will no doubt be a constant reminder and an inspiration to the so many businessmen and women out there in the four corners of our nation who strive on a daily basis, to make something out of themselves not just for personal gain…but to genuinely make a contribution towards the national economy.

The ceremony was graced by some of the top names in Sri Lanka’s business arena and individuals like……………………………..from Dialog Axiata PLC,  Prakash Schaffter MD,  Janashakthi Insurance PLC,  Asitha Seneviratne, Additional  Secretary, Ministry of Industry & Commerce and V. Sivagnanasothy, Secretary, Ministry of Traditional Industry& Small Enterprise Development  were prominent amongst an impressive guest list.

A very, inspiring and rousing welcome speech was delivered by Kumar Mallimaratchi, President, FCCISL while Nalin Attygale, Secretary General/CEO,National Project Director, CHEER-FCCISL , given a comprehensive brief about the theme and the process of the programme and Patrick Amerasinghe, Founder of the Program/Past President, FCCISL were also very active and articulate during the proceedings.

A new segment of the Awards is being introduced last year, Emerging Small Women Entrepreneur in North and East and Differently Abled Entrepreneur. These newly introduced special awards are themed respectively and will be going national this year, “Encouraging Women in Sri Lanka to realize their Entrepreneurial Potential” and “Beyond Barriers to Achieve Entrepreneurship”.


The Emerging Small Women Entrepreneur is (all Island) intends to recognize small women entrepreneurs to create a movement that promotes women’s entrepreneurship and makes people aware of the incredible and impressive contribution made by women for economic development of all the Provinces in Sri Lanka.


The Differently Abled Entrepreneur is a premeditated category of the Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year with a view to recognize highly motivated entrepreneurs who achieve their set goals by working beyond physical barriers. Last years experience of this category was very impressive.


The Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year Awards is recognized as the country’s highest national honor to the business community, grandeur and unparalleled to any other national awards scheme. This annual award scheme is designed especially to distinguish, reward and motivate Sri Lanka’s very own entrepreneurs to reach the pinnacle of achievement whilst contributing towards the national economy. The event is organized in association with FCCISL’s 57 member chambers and associations as a tribute to the country’s outstanding entrepreneurs both at provincial and national level. The awards ceremony was primarily launched based on a concept of former FCCISL President, Patrick Amerasinghe.


The contestant enterprises have been grouped into four categories; Small for investments greater than Rs. 1 up to 2 million and Medium for investments of more than Rs. 2 million up to 20 million, Large for investments between Rs. 20-50 million and the Extra Large category for investments of over Rs. 50 million. The Woman Entrepreneur of the Year and the Young Entrepreneur of the Year awards are intended to motivate and recognize the strength of women and young entrepreneurship and its contribution to the county’s economy while providing gainful employment.


The event has earned its own credibility for its independent processes of judging by professionals and experts, representing diverse disciplines nominated from state and private sector institutions of the country covering different aspects of the programme.


Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year is staged at two levels, provincial and national. Provincial awards will comprise 9 Gold awards for the nine provinces, 36 Silver awards comprising 4 awards each for the 9 provinces in the Small, Medium, Large and Extra Large categories. Similarly there will be 2 Bronze awards each in the 4 categories and therefore a total of 72 for 9 provinces with a total number of 117 provincial awards. Of the national awards, there will be an overall Platinum award winner followed by 4 Gold awards, 8 silver awards and 12 Bronze awards in the Small, Medium, Large and Extra Large categories with a total of 25 awards. Each Special award category will carry 3 awards per each province as winner, 1st runner up and 2nd runner up and five merit certificates at the provincial level. National level, winner, 1st Runners up, 2nd runner up and 5 certificates will be awarded based on the total marks obtained.


Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year 2012 Application Forms will be available at the FCCISL Secretariat located at No. 53, Vauxhall Lane, Colombo 2 and Regional and District member Chambers of FCCISL located in island-wide. Forms could also be downloaded from www.entrepreneur.fccisl.lk website. Interested applicants may reach Event Co-ordinator, Puwanes Waran on 011 230 42 53/4 or [email protected]